Blahhh!

Hola!

I’ve been trying to get typekit to work on my blog all day and I cant seem to figure it out!
I did figure out how to add COLORS though! Yea yea..I’m not very tech savvy…

Never made it to yoga yesterday, it wasnt until 7pm…by then I did not feel like driving! We went for a run instead and stopped at the soccer field and did sprints/pushups/situps! It was fun and there was such a nice breeze coming off the ocean!

A few weeks ago my mom was making food for a birthday party for one of the teacher’s birthday where she works! I did my internship with them last year and have been volunteering for the past 4 years so I wanted to contribute something special too! I decided on Key Lime Cupcakes!

OH MY GOSH!!!! I had no idea how these were going to turn out…they were beyond my expectations for sure!! If anyone out there likes key lime pie or are interested in experimenting with the flavor these are perfect!!

Key Lime Cupcakes
1 cup flour
3/4 cup self rising flour
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temp
1 1/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 1/2 tbsp. lime juice (I used key lime juice)
1 tbsp. grated lime peel
green food coloring (5 drops)
3/4 cup buttermilk

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk flours together in medium bowl.
2. Beat butter in a large bowl until smooth. Add sugar, beat to blend.
3. Beat in 2 eggs one at a time, then lime juice, lime peel (optional if using key lime juice) and green food coloring.
4. Beat in flour mixture in 3 additions alternatly with buttermilk.
5. Fill muffin cups half way and bake for 20 min or until toothpick comes out clean!

For the frosting I did a simple cream cheese frosting combining an 8oz package of cream cheese with 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, 1/2 cup unsalted room temp butter, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract. Lime peel decoration optional!

However, if you notice these cupcakes would make any lactose go running for the hills! So to supplement the fact that there were now a half batch of cupcakes I could not eat (I had a piece of one when they were done to know how they tasted!) I used Mama Pea’s recipe for mango cupcakes with dark chocolate gnache! Unfortunatly I did not get a picture of them but they were phenom!!! I dont think Mama pea knows about my blog, so I hope this isnt creepy! I have a whole list of things I want to try from her blog!

This morning was spent lounging poolside with an iced coffee from starbucks (unfortunatly I have to get it black and then add my own milk and sugar at home, so its a rare purchase) and my nook! I love my nook, ereader from barnes and noble…but I kind of wish i’d gone with the kindle….b&n is a little frustrating to work with….the day I got it I had problems and had to take it back to the store & the store had to call customer service! ahhhhgh…but the nook study for the computer is awesome! My environmental sciences text book was $112 USED! I about had a heart attack until I saw they had an ebook version for about $60 muuuccchhh better!

I guess its time to run, eat dinner, do some school reading, some regular reading, and get to bed!

I’m experimenting with my lunch tomorrow…..lets hope all goes well!

Have a good night!

2 responses to “Blahhh!

  1. Textbooks are wayyyy too expensive. Do the people who write them make boatloads of money? Maybe that should be my career someday. Except that textbooks aren’t that fun to read, so I’m thinking they wouldn’t be that fun to write, either.

Leave a Reply

